Dr. Badr named to state pharmacy and therapeutics committee – School of Medicine News

Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer has appointed a faculty member from Wayne State University School of Medicine to the Michigan Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee.

Mr. Safwan Badr, MD, MBA, chair of the Department of Internal Medicine and professor of internal medicine, physiology and biomedical engineering, will represent the physicians on the committee. His term began on August 25 and he will serve until October 1, 2023.

Mr. Safwan Badr, MD, MBA

The Michigan Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee advises the Department of Health and Human Services on issues affecting prescription drug coverage for its various health care programs. The committee recommends to the ministry guidelines for prescription drugs covered by its various health care programs.

Dr. Badr is chief of WSU’s division of pulmonary, allergy, critical care, and sleep medicine, and staff physician at the John D. Dingell VA Medical Center. He is Clinical Director of Wayne Health, the nonprofit, multi-specialty academic group practice for WSU faculty physicians.

He is an internationally renowned sleep disorders researcher and research mentor with current funding from the US Department of Veterans Affairs, Department of Defense, and National Institutes of Health.

Comments are closed.